chúc mừng năm mới

Happy 2012!

We saw the new year in with thousands of other people in downtown Saigon. (Although the proper new year celebrations start on the 23rd which is the lunar new year. The Vietnamese celebrate the lunar new year with a whole week off, during ‘Tet’ people visit their families and everything closes, it’s like a whole week of Christmas day!)

Here are my resolutions:

1) Go to the gym at least twice a week.

I’m going to try to go 3 times, but twice seems like an achieveable goal. I had the same goal last year and I lasted until March. What’s different this year? I have a nicer gym that was more expensive so I have to go to get my money’s worth. Also the other two girls in my house have joined too so we can go together. Lastly, it’s impossible to walk anywhere here really because of the heat and traffic, so it’s the only exercise I’ll get!

2) Learn to take, swallow and digest a ‘chill pill’.

Don’t worry, this isn’t the start of some new hardcore drug habit. I get stressed really easily and worry about everything, this year I’m going to try to relax more and be more laid back. I’m not sure how I’m going to achieve this yet, but I’m going to not let myself get worked up and anxious about things which are happening in five week’s time! Also this encompasses letting go of the need to control everything! How can I do this? Well, I’ll have to trust other people a bit more to get things done and also realise that the world’s not going to end if I don’t tick off my to-do list!

3) Budget properly and stick to it.

This is somewhat of a contradiction to point two as it involves vigorously recording what I’m spending in a controlling way! But, I really want to save some money this year and I need to keep track on what I’m spending. I have set myself a limit of 200,000 dong a day. That’s about $10 or £6.70. It’s actually pretty hard to spend that in a day here so I should be OK. The main costs so far have been setting myself up here, buying things for my room and other things I couldn’t bring with me. From now on I’m going to write down what I spend everyday in my diary.

I could write a long list of other things like ‘travel more’, ‘be happier’, ‘live in the moment’, ‘be nicer’ but I think it’s quality rather than quantity here. Better to stick to two or three achievable resolutions then make a long list of vague ones that I should be doing anyway.

Leave a Reply

